Leaving the scene of a car accident is punishable by law in Nevada. If you are in a car collision, Nevada law requires that you stay at the scene of an accident, even if you are not at fault. If either involved party leaves the scene of an accident willfully, they’re committing a crime.
Whatever the reason, leaving the scene of a car accident is a criminal act that could have a lasting impact on your record. Is it a felony? Depending on the severity of the accident, you may need to pay heavy fines, have your driver’s license suspended, or even face jail time. If you were involved in a hit-and-run accident in the state of Nevada, reach out to the skilled attorneys at De Castroverde today to see how we can help.
What Is a Hit-and-Run Accident?
In Nevada, a hit-and-run can occur when a driver fails to stop their vehicle after an accident. While you might imagine a car striking a pedestrian and speeding off, Nevada hit-and-run laws cover more than that. Some hit-and-run accidents can result in serious injuries or even death. However, a simple accident such as bumping into a parked vehicle and driving away can have serious consequences, too.
Hit-and-run accidents are occurring more often, increasing each year over the past decade. Whether a vehicle hits a parked vehicle, a stationary object, or a person, a driver must provide their information. There’s an exception if there’s nobody around, and you leave your contact information and then proceed to file a police report. Nevada law does not consider that a hit-and-run even though you left the scene of the accident.
What Should You Do After Getting in a Car Accident?
Nevada has specific legal obligations in place that drivers must complete in the event of a car accident. These include the following:
- Both parties must stop if an accident occurs, especially if there has been an injury or death of someone involved.
- Even if there are injuries involved and you aren’t at fault for the accident, you still must give aid and information to the other party.
- If the accident involved a parked vehicle, you must leave a note with contact information for the driver of that vehicle.
- If you’ve hit a piece of property or an unoccupied vehicle, you must notify the police of the accident.
The failure to follow the legal obligations above can result in criminal charges. If found guilty, you may pay hefty fines, serve jail time, or face other penalties such as losing your driver’s license.
Can You Be Charged With Additional Crimes After a Hit-and-Run?
The penalties you will face after getting charged in a hit-and-run case in Nevada vary depending on the damages you cause.
If the accident results in only property damage, you will face a misdemeanor charge. If you are found guilty, you may spend up to six months in jail or pay up to $1,000 in fines. You’ll also receive a demerit of six points to your driver’s license.
If you leave the scene of an accident that results in any bodily injury or death, you may receive a Class B felony charge. If you are found guilty, you may serve between two and 20 years in a Nevada State Prison, pay between $2,000 and $5,000 in fines, and the state will revoke your driver’s license. Also, you may face separate hit-and-run charges for each person injured in the accident.
Additionally, any accident victim can file a civil lawsuit against you. In this case, you can face a lawsuit for negligence. If the lawsuit is successful, the plaintiff may be able to recover compensation sufficient enough to cover their medical expenses, loss of future earnings, as well as any lost wages, and even pain and suffering. That’s why motorists are required to carry sufficient insurance coverage, enough to cover these costs.
How Do You Fight Hit-and-Run Accident Charges?
The best way to fight a hit-and-run charge is to hire a Las Vegas criminal defense attorney. Depending on the details surrounding the accident, your lawyer may be able to argue that:
- You were not involved in the accident and were therefore under no obligation to stop. We can prove this by using traffic surveillance footage and GPS car vehicle data.
- You were unaware that an accident even occurred.
- You sufficiently fulfilled your duties by providing your information and rendering aid as necessary.
- You were in shock or otherwise incapacitated after the accident to stop and render aid or exchange information. While everyone likes to think that they will remain calm and collected after an accident occurs, the stress and impact of the crash can cause confusion and fear.
De Castroverde has a team of skilled lawyers who can help you, and this is the type of representation you can expect.
Do You Need a Lawyer? Why You Should Choose De Castroverde
Being charged with a crime can be intimidating, no matter what the charges are. If you are scared, anxious, or overwhelmed, contact the lawyers at De Castroverde today.
De Castroverde has a team of attorneys with years of experience in criminal defense. Having a skilled lawyer on your side to help you through the process can make things a little easier to understand. If you’ve been arrested for a crime in Las Vegas or the surrounding areas, please don’t hesitate to reach out to an attorney.
From the moment you discover you’re facing criminal charges to the moment of your sentencing, the attorneys at De Castroverde Law Group will be right by your side. We’ll help you understand what the criminal charges mean and the potential outcomes of your case. And we will keep you updated throughout the entire process. We can explain things in a way that eliminates confusion.
You can reach the team at De Castroverde online 24 hours a day, seven days a week, or by phone at 702-222-9999 seven days a week. A team member will be happy to answer any questions you may have or get you set up for a free consultation to discuss your case. You deserve to have the experts at De Castroverde represent you.