Las Vegas Hit and Run Lawyer

Charged with leaving the scene of an accident? You need a Las Vegas hit and run lawyer to build a strong defense case and fight for your rights.

No one ever thinks that they would leave the scene of a car accident. However, in the moment of the crash, many people become extremely confused, overwhelmed, and scared. The result is that each year, thousands of vehicles are involved in hit-and-run accidents, with serious consequences for everyone involved.

Whatever the reason for leaving the scene of a car accident, hit-and-runs are criminal acts that may result in a mark on your permanent record, a driver’s license suspension, heavy fines, and even jail time. If you have been involved in a hit-and-run in Nevada, you may benefit from the assistance of our skilled and experienced Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys from De Castroverde Accident & Injury Lawyers.

Leaving the Scene of an Accident Resulting in Property Damage

Even if no one is injured in the car accident in Las Vegas, or if no one is present in the other vehicle, you are obligated under Nevada law to stop and leave your contact information on the other vehicle. Hitting another vehicle and leaving the scene without stopping to exchange information with the other driver is considered a misdemeanor. Being found guilty of this crime could result in:

  • Substantially higher car insurance rates.
  • Six points on your Nevada driver’s license.
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Up to six months in jail.

Leaving the Scene of an Accident Resulting in Injury or Death

Under Nevada law, you are required to stop your car and render aid to any injured parties following a car accident, regardless of fault. This could mean asking the other driver and any passengers if they are okay, calling for medical assistance, or asking a bystander to call for assistance. If you leave the scene of a car accident without rendering aid or calling for help, it is considered a felony. Being found guilty of this crime could result in:

  • Substantially higher car insurance rates.
  • A suspended or revoked Nevada driver’s license.
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • Up to 15 years in prison.

Important Factors in Hit-And-Run Cases

All hit-and-run cases are different. How you should approach your case as well as how serious the consequences of a conviction are depend heavily on the specific details of the accident. For example, the severity of your case may depend on:

  • Whether the Las Vegas driver was intoxicated at the time of the accident.
  • Whether the driver was breaking other traffic laws or driving recklessly.
  • How severe the injuries were and how many injuries there were.
  • Whether the driver knew that anyone was injured in the accident.
  • Whether the driver made any efforts to get help.
  • Whether the driver came forward after the hit-and-run.
  • The driver’s driving record and criminal record.

Making Things Right After Leaving the Scene

If you panic and leave the scene of an accident, it makes a difference to begin righting wrongs as soon as possible. If you quickly realize that you have made a mistake minutes after leaving, it is best – for both you and everyone else involved – to turn around and return to the scene. Likewise, if you realize the next morning that you have not done the right or lawful thing, coming forward with the help of a Las Vegas hit and run lawyer is the best decision. Talking to your criminal defense attorney at any point after your hit-and-run is private and confidential.

Contact Us Today

Even if you made the wrong decision in the chaotic moments after a traffic accident, you can start making the right decisions right now. A Las Vegas hit and run attorney can help you understand your case and navigate to the best possible outcome. To learn more about our legal services, or to request a confidential consultation, please contact De Castroverde Accident & Injury Lawyers today.