Violating Nevada’s concealed carry firearm laws can land you in hot water. Understanding the rules and having the proper license is key to avoiding charges. You could face significantly increased penalties if you carried a concealed gun illegally while committing another crime. Learn more in this criminal defense blog.
A Las Vegas criminal defense attorney from De Castroverde Criminal & Immigration Lawyers may be able to represent you if you face accusations or charges stemming from a concealed firearm. We can review the facts of your case with you and help you understand your options for getting a better outcome in your case. Call us today to learn more.
Understanding Nevada Concealed Carry Codes
Nevada residents may get a permit to concealed carry a weapon (CCW) anywhere firearms are legal to carry in the state and those with reciprocal agreements. Per NRS 202.3653, Nevada will issue you a concealed handgun permit as long as you apply, provide the necessary information, and meet the criteria. This is known as a “shall issue” law.
According to the list of disqualifications by the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department, you cannot obtain a CCW permit and carry a concealed weapon if:
- You are under age 18.
- You have a felony conviction.
- You have a restraining order against you currently.
It is also illegal to concealed carry when you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. This includes a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of more than 0.08 percent.
Limits on Carrying a Concealed Weapon
There are some limits on where you can carry a concealed or open-carry weapon. In general, you cannot take a firearm into a federal courthouse, government building, university property, private or public school, or daycare center. Private property owners can also ask you to leave their property if they know you have a concealed weapon.
For example, some casinos on the Las Vegas strip allow concealed carry, but others post notices or have staff notify gun owners of their rules when they become aware of the firearm.
Consequences of Illegal Concealed Carry of a Firearm in Nevada
You could face significant consequences if a Nevada court convicts you of carrying a concealed firearm without a permit. This offense is a category C felony. The penalties for this type of violation could include:
- Significant prison time, possibly one to five years
- A fine of up to $10,000
- As a convicted felon, the loss of your right to own firearms
- Difficulty finding a job or renting an apartment with a criminal record
Standing accused of illegally concealing a handgun is a serious allegation. You should consider consulting a Las Vegas criminal defense lawyer from our team as soon as you learn about the concern. You need someone on your team to advocate for you. It may be possible to:
- Clear your name
- Get the charges dropped or reduced
- Face lesser penalties
Under NRS 202.3673, you could also face misdemeanor charges and consequences for carrying a concealed handgun or another weapon where prohibited. This sentence could include:
- Up to six months in jail
- A fine of up to $1,000
The court will assess a civil fine if you concealed carry without having your permit on you. Save yourself the cash and always take your permit.
Defenses for Illegal Concealed Carry Charges
If law enforcement or another party accuses you of a gun crime, you want one of our Nevada criminal defense lawyers on your side as soon as possible. The earlier we can go to work on your case, the better chance we have of defusing the situation quickly. We will go to work protecting your rights and building your case immediately.
We use our experience developing weapons charges defenses to help you fight accusations of an illegally concealed handgun or other allegations. If you face charges, we are here to advocate for you, protect your rights, and fight for a better outcome in your case.
Some common defenses we use in these cases include:
- There was an error, and you can legally carry a concealed weapon.
- You left your CCW permit at home or otherwise did not have it with you, but you have a valid and current permit.
- You were open carrying the weapon.
- The weapon was someone else’s, and you were unaware of it (such as in a backpack).
Each case is different. We develop our client’s defense based on the details of their case.
Having a Concealed Weapon Can Make the Consequences You Face Much Worse
Under the Nevada concealed carry firearm laws, the courts enhance the penalties if you illegally concealed a weapon during the commission of another crime. This could add significant prison time to your sentence if convicted. Some gun crimes include:
- Felon in possession of a firearm
- Unlawful distribution of firearms
- Brandishing a deadly weapon
- Aggravated assault with a deadly weapon
- Domestic violence involving a weapon
- Robbery or theft with a weapon
For example, Nevada law generally allows for a sentence of up to 15 years in prison for someone convicted of robbery under NRS 200.380. However, NRS 193.165 allows judges to add up to 20 years to the term when there is a deadly weapon involved as long as the additional time does not exceed the original sentence. In this case, they could add 15 more years for using a gun to commit the robbery.
Discuss Your Legal Options With Our Concealed Carry Firearm Lawyers Today
Speak to a team member from De Castroverde Criminal & Immigration Lawyers about your Nevada concealed carry firearms case today. We may be able to help if law enforcement accuses you of illegally carrying a gun or you face charges. We know how to defend our clients against these charges and fight for a better outcome in their cases.
Contact us today to learn how we can help with your case. We offer free consultations.