How Are Multiple DUI Offenses Handled in Nevada?
In Nevada, there is a casino or bar on just about every corner ready to serve you up a drink. But, if you dare get behind the wheel when your blood alcohol level is 0.08 percent or higher (0.02 percent for those 21 and younger), you could find yourself facing a DUI. First offenders face harsh enough penalties, but if you have multiple DUI offenses on your record, you may be surprised at just how steep the penalties can get.
What Happens For First Time Offenders?
For first time offenders, you may be able to negotiate your way to a lesser plea. But, even then, you could face:
- 2 days up to 6 months in jail
- $400 and up to $1,000 in fines
- A license suspension of 90 days
What Happens to Second and Third Time Offenders?
After your first offense, you enter the “Lookback Period.” This period lasts seven years and any DUIs you obtain within that seven year period will be compounded. After seven years, a DUI will fall off your record. So, if you had a DUI in 2000 and then did not have another until 2008, you will be a first-time offender with your 2008 DUI. Following are the charges associated with second and third time offenses in detail:
For Second Time Offenders
- 10 days to 6 months in jail
- $750 to $1,000 in fines
- A license suspension for up to one year
- Possible ignition interlock device required
For Third Time Offenders
- 1 to 6 years in jail
- $2,000 to $5,000 in fines
- A license suspension of up to three years
- You will be required to get an ignition interlock device upon receiving your license
Refusing to Take the Test? Consider the Penalties
If you refuse to take the chemical tests to assess your blood alcohol level (BAC), you could face a fine and you will have an automatic license suspension. As a first time offender, they may not force you to take the test, but second and third time offenders that refuse could be forced to take a blood test.
Why You Need to Hire an Attorney
If you are a second or third time DUI offender, the penalties are much harsher. Realize that the courts are less likely to give you the minimum sentence – especially if you have a history of multiple DUI offenses. An attorney can assist you with your case and possibly even help you beat your DUI arrest so that you are not considered a multiple offender.
Arrested for a DUI? Contact De Castroverde Law Group Today
If you have been arrested for a DUI, whether it is your first or third, you need an attorney that can offer aggressive defense against harsh DUI penalties. The DUI attorneys at De Castroverde Law Group can help protect your rights. Explore your legal options and start building your defense today with a no-obligation consultation by calling (702) 383-0606 or by filling out an online contact form with your questions.