Drunk Driving in Las Vegas

Driving under the influence in Las Vegas is a serious offense with serious consequences. Any amount of alcohol use impairs judgement, delays reaction time, and affects vision. In 2013 alone, 14,445 people were arrested for alcohol-related driving offenses in Nevada. The same year, 10,076 deaths and 290,000 injuries were caused by drunk driving accidents across the country. Las Vegas lawmakers take considerable measures to ensure initial and subsequent DUI offenses are prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. If you have been charged with a DUI in Las Vegas, it is beneficial to be familiar with Nevada’s laws.

First Offense
With a first-time DUI arrest in Las Vegas, you may serve a minimum of two days and a maximum of six months of jail time, and a possible 96 hours of community service. Penalties range from $400 to $1,000, with a 90 day license suspension. You may also be subjected to a mandatory ignition lock device. Many offenders are sentenced to participate in an alcohol treatment program or a DUI program following a first offense.

Second Offense
A second arrest within seven years of the first will result in ten days to six months in prison. Fines will increase to $750 to $1,000 and community service will increase to a maximum of 200 hours. License suspension will increase to one full year. The ignition lock device may be required once your driver’s license is restored.

Third Offense
If the third offense occurs within seven years of the first, your license will be suspended for at least three years. You can expect one to six years in prison, with penalties ranging from $2,000 to $5,000. Ignition lock device is automatic and mandatory.

Blood Alcohol Content
In Nevada, a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or above is considered legal intoxication for adults 21 years of age and older. If your BAC reads under 0.08% you may still be arrested and convicted if other substances are found in your system. These may include cocaine or marijuana, among others. If under 21, the legal limit is 0.02%. Any alcohol intake whatsoever is illegal for drivers of commercial vehicles.

Implied Consent
Anyone carrying a legal driver’s license in the state of Nevada must follow the implied consent law. This means that if you are arrested, you are legally bound to consent to a breathalyzer or any other blood, urine, or sobriety test if instructed to do so by a police officer. If you refuse, you will suffer an automatic license suspension and a fine.

De Castroverde Law Group – DUI Attorneys
Though driving under the influence is illegal and puts everyone at risk, De Castroverde Law Group understands that every situation is unique. Your constitutional rights may have been violated during the arrest process. Blood samples may have been contaminated. Acid reflux and other conditions may affect a breathalyzer test to your disadvantage. A DUI affects your freedom and future. Our dedicated, compassionate legal team has successfully defended countless clients against DUI charges, and we can help you. Contact us today for a free consultation.