Each year, our Las Vegas DUI lawyers run into people visiting Las Vegas for many reasons, such as appealing attractions, business reasons, or simply to get away. As a result, city police officers know that many visitors will take to the streets after consuming large quantities of alcohol.
Officers patrol the streets at all times, preparing and searching for intoxicated drivers to arrest and take into custody. Unfortunately, some officers will wrongfully accuse a person of intoxicated driving or make mistakes during the arrest. If you have been arrested and charged with DUI in Las Vegas, now is the time to involve a Las Vegas out-of-state DUI lawyer from our law firm.
In the state of Nevada, driving under the influence is a criminal charge that is taken very seriously by prosecutors. A person found behind the wheel of a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level at or above .08% will be arrested immediately and taken into custody.
The arrest may have stemmed from a chemical blood test, breath test, or even a field sobriety test administered by a police officer. No matter what the driving force in the arrest may have been, it is important to involve a competent Las Vegas criminal defense attorney to protect your rights and defend your case.
You might lose your license if arrested for a DUI while visiting Las Vegas. The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) provides information about the penalties for driving under the influence. The penalties are:
If your license is suspended, you may be able to get a restricted driver’s license after installing an ignition interlock device. An ignition interlock device requires the driver to pass a breath alcohol test before the car starts. You must install this device at your own expense. The DMV also requires you to pay a $120 reinstatement fee and file an SR-22 insurance form.
If you are convicted of a misdemeanor DUI for the first time in Nevada, you must complete an 8-hour drug and alcohol education course through an approved DUI school. The Nevada DMV provides a list of approved schools, some of which are in-person and some of which are online. Fees vary but are generally around $100.
Judges will usually give you three to six months to finish the course. If you fail to complete DUI school on time, the judge may sentence you to up to six months in jail.
If you were arrested in Las Vegas for driving under the influence, you may wonder how a Nevada DUI would affect your out-of-state license. Our lawyer for tourists in Las Vegas with De Castroverde Criminal & Immigration Lawyers will help you understand the implications of a Las Vegas DUI when you live in another state.
All 50 states, as well as Washington, D.C., share information about serious traffic violations, license suspensions, and more through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)’s National Driver Register and Problem Driver Pointer System. Most likely, if your license is suspended in Nevada, it will be suspended in your home state.
If you face misdemeanor DUI charges, our DUI lawyer can appear in court on your behalf so that you do not have to return to Las Vegas for court proceedings.
Our lawyer with De Castroverde Criminal & Immigration lawyers may be able to help if you were arrested for a DUI while visiting Vegas. We will listen to your side of the story, investigate the details of your arrest, and develop a criminal defense attorney in Las Vegas who advocates for your best interests.
Here are some potential defenses that our DUI lawyer in Las Vegas can use to get the charges against you reduced or dismissed:
Our team works hard to get the best possible outcome for people facing criminal charges. If you were arrested while visiting Vegas, you can trust that our Las Vegas DUI lawyer will do the same for you. Here are some testimonials for satisfied clients:
At De Castroverde Criminal & Immigration Lawyers, our team of criminal attorneys has decades of collective legal experience and extensive law knowledge. It is imperative that you retain skilled and seasoned legal counsel, as the criminal consequences for drunk driving vary from state to state. In some out-of-state cases, a person charged with DUI will face penalties in both Nevada and their home state. Additionally, the defendant’s attorney must speak with the Nevada DMV within seven days of the arrest to contest the administrative license suspension.
There are many defense strategies that a Las Vegas out-of-state DUI attorney can employ to challenge your charges, including a thorough examination of the circumstances and evidence of your case. Our team will leave no stone unturned during the meticulous examination of the breath test, blood test, or field sobriety test and questioning of witnesses and the arresting officers.
With the many negative impacts of a criminal conviction, you cannot afford to face your charges without the help of a Las Vegas DUI lawyer. We are committed to providing clients with exceptional legal services, and you can be confident that your case will receive aggressive effective representation.
To fight for your freedoms and challenge your charges, enlist the support of a proven team – call De Castroverde Criminal & Immigration Lawyers at (702) 805-2694 or fill out our online contact form today!
De Castroverde Law Group has helped countless clients defend against serious charges, including:
Our Las Vegas criminal attorneys at De Castroverde Law Group are experienced in defending clients against all types of drug charges, and we can fight for you.
Fighting a drunk driving charge can be difficult, but there are ways to beat a DUI charge. Let De Castroverde Law Group fight for you!
It is important to turn to a domestic violence attorney in Las Vegas with the knowledge and skill to fight allegations.
Former district attorney Frank Johan Coumou discusses the De Castroverde Law Group’s unparalleled experience defending clients against all types of criminal charges.
De Castroverde Law Group is dedicated to helping someone like you. Someone who has been criminally charged, who has been arrested or someone who knows that they are under criminal investigation. These are frightening scenarios and are usually accompanied by high levels of stress. If you find that you are in a situation similar to this, we highly encourage you to look around our site. Your Las Vegas criminal attorney can do the following:
An officer cannot randomly pull a vehicle over to test the driver for intoxication, or else is would be considered an unlawful stop by the police. There are a number of regulations law enforcement must follow when stopping a driver for suspected drunk driving. The officer must have probable cause before pulling a vehicle over, which means there must be good reason to suspect the driver is under the influence. This may be for such behavior as speeding, swerving across the lanes, reckless driving, ignoring traffic signs and signals, driving too slowly, etc. A DUI can also result if the officer pulls you over for a routine traffic violation and notices that you seem inebriated.
Many people think it is pointless to challenge a DUI if they failed a chemical test, but it is important to know that there are a number of possible defenses when failing a breath or blood test. The results of your test could have been tainted or negatively impacted if the breath machine was improperly calibrated or improperly maintained, if you burped or vomited within 30 minutes before taking a breath test, if the technician cleaned your skin with an alcohol swab before taking a blood sample, if the technician did not follow standard procedure when testing the sample, etc. Call our firm to discuss your case with a member of our skilled team to learn about your defense options.
There are two separate legal processes for a DUI: the criminal trial and the DMV hearing. At the hearing, the DMV will decide whether or not your license should be suspended for the alleged offense. It is important to have the advocacy of a skilled lawyer at your hearing who can present evidence in your defense and seek to have the consequences to your driving privileges dismissed or reduced.
DUI is most often a misdemeanor offense, but you can be charged with a felony if you are arrested for your third DUI within 7 years or if the incident caused injury or death to a victim. The penalties for a felony DUI are far more severe, including incarceration in a state prison and heavy fines, so if you are charged you should not wait to retain aggressive defense for your case.
An ignition interlock device is a breath testing device that is sometimes attached to the car of a convicted drunk driver as part of their sentencing. In order to start the vehicle, the driver must breath into the machine, and the car will only start if their BAC is under the legal limit. The IID may also require the driver to submit to additional breath testing at random intervals to ensure they cannot “beat” the machine.
If you are arrested for drunk driving on a commercial driver’s license, you face a CDL DUI. Commercial drivers are held to higher standards than normal drivers, due to the extensive damage their trucks can cause when involved in collisions with passenger vehicles. A commercial driver will be charged with a DUI if they are found to be driving with a BAC of .04%, half of the legal limit for regular drivers. If you are convicted of a DUI, you could lose your CDL for life, along with fines and possible incarceration. It is crucial that you enlist a powerful defense attorney for your case who can represent your rights and interests.
By far the best lawyers you could ask for. They completely alleviate you from any stress and hassles from your case and they always end up giving good news. I’m so happy I was able to utilize De Castroverde Accident & Injury Lawyers and would never consider going anywhere else. Craig Hendricks and his team are phenomenal.Gianna G.