Las Vegas DUI Arrests
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Nevada – whether or not you believe the charges are fair – you are likely feeling overwhelmed, embarrassed, stressed, and fearful of the consequences. At De Castroverde Law Group, we have helped a large number of clients facing DUI charges receive a fair and optimal outcome after being charged with driving under the influence.
Factors that May Affect Your DUI Case
How you and your attorney should approach your DUI case, as well as how serious your DUI case is, depends on a large number of factors, which may include:
- Your blood alcohol level.
- Whether you were speeding or driving recklessly at the time of your arrest.
- Whether you caused an accident before your arrest.
- Whether anyone was injured or killed in the accident.
- Whether you resisted arrest.
- Whether you left the scene of the accident
- If you were driving a commercial vehicle.
- If you had children in the vehicle.
- If you were driving with a suspended or revoked license.
- Your age (whether you are over or under 21).
- Your criminal record.
- Your driving record and history of DUI.
Common DUI Defenses
If you wish to challenge your DUI charges in Nevada, you must convince a judge or jury that you do not deserve a guilty verdict. Common DUI defenses include:
- Proving that the officer who pulled you over did not have probable cause to do so.
- Proving that you were not legally drunk or under the influence while behind the wheel.
- Proving that the breathalyzer test was inaccurate or incorrectly administered.
- Proving that the field sobriety tests were inaccurate or incorrectly administered.
- Proving that the horizontal gaze nystagmus (HGN) test was incorrectly administered.
- Proving that the blood test was incorrectly administered or that the blood sample was not handled properly.
- Proving that you were driving due to an emergency or under duress.
- Proving that the police engaged in improper actions during your case.
A Nevada DUI defense attorney can help you understand what happened on the day of your arrest and whether one of the above defenses or a more rare defense pertains to your case.
The Consequences of DUI in Nevada
The first three DUI offenses in Nevada come with heavy fines, driver’s license suspension, and possible jail time:
- A first DUI offense may result in up to six months in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, a 90-day license suspension, and the possible installation of an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle.
- A second DUI offense may result in up to six months in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, a one-year license suspension, and the possible installation of an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle.
- A third DUI offense may result in up to six years in jail, $5,000 in fines, a three-year license suspension, and the required installation of an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle.
In addition to the direct legal consequences of a DUI conviction, you may also face consequences in other facets of your life, including your car insurance rates, your job, and your finances. We are here to help you mitigate these consequences and move on with your life in the best manner possible.
Contact A Nevada DUI Attorney At De Castroverde Law Group
Whether you are facing your first DUI charge or whether you have a complex case involving repeat offenses and serious injuries, we are dedicated to defending your rights and getting to the best possible resolution. Contact us today to tell us your story and learn your options for action.